Jack and Jill Lake Shore Chapter

In June 2007, the Chicago and Windy City chapters held a Jack and Jill informational meeting for the purpose of assisting the Mid-Western Region with establishing a third chapter in Chicago, IL. The meeting resulted in 47 mothers submitting applications to request permission to form a Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated Interest Group, which was granted in August 2007. By October 2007, the Lake Shore Mothers Interest Group had successfully secured “Provisional Group” status from the Jack & Jill National Executive Board.

While pursuing chapter status, we were able to draw from Jack and Jill’s stellar local and regional resources. We were also privileged to have the support and guidance of National President Jacqueline Moore Bowles, Immediate Past National President Alice Leigh Peoples, and Regional Director Sandra Townsend. We were able to reach our goal within nine months and, on July 25, 2008, the Jack and Jill 43rd Biennial National Convention delegates enthusiastically and unanimously voted to extend Provisional Chapter status to our group.

The Lake Shore Chapter of Jack and Jill of America, Inc. was chartered on October 18, 2008 by National President Jacqueline Moore Bowles, the entire 2008-2010 National Executive Board, Immediate Past National President Alice Leigh Peoples, Regional Director Sandra Townsend, Immediate Past Regional Director Linda Murrain and many other Mid-Western Regional Officers.

Forty three charter members were initiated and installed. Our mother members included: Sheron Banks-Fallis, Tracey Booker- Edwards, Kimberlie Boone, Dana Burke, Veta Caldwell-Charles, Lynda Edwards, Jamie Findley, Angela Ford, Allyson Fox-Crump, Paula Grantt, Melody Grimes, Jackie Hall- Harris, Terisa Hammond, Rhea Henderson, Sherita Jackson, Tonya Jarrett-Jeter, Angela Johnson, Nancy Jones, Katrina McWilliams, Kay Monelle, Phyllis Paige, Tanya Ramsey, Antoinette Rayburn, Jil Ross, Algeia Scott, Karen Shaw, Raynya Simmons, Pamela Sims Nunley, Allison Street, Sandra Whetstone and Celeste Wright-Harris.

Our twelve charter officers were: Felicia M. Perkins, President; Kim Bowens, Vice President; Teri Day, Program Director; DeNalda Guice Gay, Treasurer; Hope Tate, Recording Secretary; Cherya Jenkins, Corresponding Secretary; Tracey Patterson, Financial Secretary; Von Simmons, Editor/Historian; LaDonna Flanagan, Parliamentarian; Sherilyn Crawley, Chaplain; Malba Allen, Sergeant at Arms and Stephanie Austin-Jackson, Foundation Chair.